h1

Facing your giants

June 15, 2010

David replied to the Philistine, “You come to me with sword, spear, and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies—the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied. Today the Lord will conquer you, and I will kill you and cut off your head. And then I will give the dead bodies of your men to the birds and wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel! And everyone assembled here will know that the Lord rescues his people, but not with sword and spear. This is the Lord ‘s battle, and he will give you to us!” As Goliath moved closer to attack, David quickly ran out to meet him. Reaching into his shepherd’s bag and taking out a stone, he hurled it with his sling and hit the Philistine in the forehead. The stone sank in, and Goliath stumbled and fell face down on the ground.
1 Samuel 17:45-49 (NLT)

I have had issues over the last year or so in facing my giants. I have focused so much on the giants or the failures in my life that I sometimes seem to forget the blessing or the victories in my life. I have let the giants dominate me. I started reading Facing Your Giants by Max Lucado. He basically go through the life of David and his failure and victories in his life. If it was failure, The Bible tells how he was focused on the giants in his life at the time. If it was a victory, he was focused on God. I can see the same in my life. When I focus on God then my life is not perfect but goes a lot easier. When I focus on the giants, then disaster. The giants will take things in your lift and distort them and will twist the truth and deceive you. If you let the giants dominate your thinking, you will lose your focus on God. Not that you never look at the giants but by focusing on God, He will lead you through the giants and eventually defeating your giants like David did Goliath.

I feel like I have two main giants in my life right now. One being my weight and two being my leading my family. With my weight I am trying to get out and walk more in the evenings to get more active. Growing up I would play just about any type of sports be it basketball in the driveway to baseball down the road at my friends grandparents place. Now. Nothing. Walking is my first step. I want to get out and play more with the boys and maybe even getting back to playing some tennis. I was never that good at playing tennis but I always enjoyed it.

For leading my family. I won’t go into that right now. Still have some issues I need to resolve in my mind. I need to defeat those giants. I need to get my focus on God in this area and just let Him deal with the giants. Sanctus Real’s new song Lead Me was released the other day. I think they must have been peaking into my life when they wrote it. You can hear it and the story behind it on their website.

Leave a comment